Harm Reduction poster creation made easy

Well it has been a little while since I have published a #hrmap post, but I have made up for it by producing 5 posters!  All in an evening’s work.  Making the posters was made very easy through the use of an iPad application called Phoster.

Why is this important for Harm Reduction peeps you might ask?  Well quite simply Phoster cost me a couple of bucks and did not require lengthy training to use.  Time is money and harm reduction services don’t often have a lot of either commodity, therefore if we want to have a graphic presence online we need to think outside of the box.  So on with the show.

Poster 1: It’s not all about the blood

This is a straight forward Phoster template.  I simply changed the wording and now I have a nice graphic to use for a future article about blood borne viruses and stigma. All in less than 5 minutes!

Poster 2: Overdose Awareness Day #OD12 Twitter Campaign

One of the problems I have with graphic design is… well nearly everything, which fonts to use, colour and positioning, I do know however what I like when I see it.  Phoster allows me to simply pick a template and fill in the gaps.  This template was originally spruiking a nightclub event.  I simply replaced the text with my own and updated the colour to something a little more vibrant.  A few minutes later I have my new graphic promoting the #OD12 hastag for International Overdose Awareness Day.  (If you haven’t taken part in the big tweet up for International Overdose awareness Day before, I highly recommend you check out this video made by Injecting Advice about #OD10)

Poster 3: Overdose Awareness Day – Don’t let our memories fade

A slightly more complex poster, this one contains not only a template but also a photo (thanks Majella for the original photograph) that I modified quite a while back using another iPad app (I’ve forgotten which one).  This poster promotes Overdose Awareness Day more generally.

Poster 4: You’ve been followed

The same photo with a different effects filter and template and now I have cheeky poster that I’m sending to people that I follow back on social media networks.  It tells people at a glance what I’m about and raises awareness of the blog.

Poster 5: Hendrix and Harm Reduction

Last but not least the man himself.  The original Hendrix poster that I created for #OD11 came about after I discovered a public domain photo of Jimi on the Wikimedia Commons site.  This  poster is premised on the idea that so much talent is wasted when somebody dies from an overdose, and that such tragedy is preventable.

When I produced the first version of this poster for Overdose Awareness Day 2011, the original image of Hendrix was black and white, which I recoloured using PowerPoint (yes you read that correctly!) then screen grabbed from the slide show and inserted into GIMP (an open source alternative to PhotoShop) so that I could include some text.  To create the new version of the  poster I simply grabbed my old work, cropped the old text using the photo editing functions in the iPad and then inserted  the image into my new Phoster poster.

Why is this important?

They say an image speaks a thousand words and in the time it has taken to write this article, some of the images you have seen here have already been ‘tweeted’, ‘retweeted’, ‘shared’ and liked with far more frequency than any body of text that I can produce in the same virtual spaces.  Images tell a story and good quality ones help to take the message of harm reduction further and further into the realms of cyberspace potentially reaching far more people.  Mobile apps are making the means of production far easier, meaning that now more than ever we are in a position to produce these messages, not only with greater ease, but greater frequency.

Comments
One Response to “Harm Reduction poster creation made easy”
  1. James says:

    Particularly like the Hendrix poster – its message really is coming across strongly.

Leave a Reply

