HIT Hot Topics and Harm Reduction Cafes

It has been both very exciting and busy here with preparations to travel to the UK to attend and present at the HIT Hot Topics 2012 conference .  Before I go any further I need to thank HIT for accepting my abstract and UnitingCare ReGen, (who employ me in my day job) who are supporting my trip to attend the conference and undertake some agency visits while I am over there.

The feature image accompanying this article provides a sneak preview of my presentation.  I can tell you that the presentation contains references to mountain climbing, the Airbus 380, Australian tourism advertising and of course harm reduction and social media.  It also includes the use of QR codes, so if you’re bringing a mobile device to the conference I highly recommend you install a QR code scanner app if you don’t have one already.

I am also really looking forward to attending the first Harm Reduction Cafe the evening prior to the conference.  The Harm Reduction Cafe concept is a great idea aimed at facilitating networking.  Not dissimilar to some of the social media cafes I have attended, harm reduction cafes are simply put, the gathering of like minded people in an agreed upon venue to swap ideas, network and share information.  HIT have provided a wonderful website with plenty of resources to support people to start and promote their own harm reduction cafes.  I can see how such events can support learning and resource sharing, and also become the vehicle by which new ideas and are initiatives are born.

While I am very excited about attending some Harm Reduction Cafe events I am also intrigued by the possibility of running similar events on Twitter in the form of Twitter chat sessions.  I have done something similar in the past, facilitating for a short period a regular twitter chat session each week addressing a different topic related to the use of social media in harm reduction.  You can read some of the transcripts here: #hrsm

If you would be interested in taking part in something similar, please let me know.  Anyway I’m off to pack my bags.  I look forward to meeting many of you soon in Liverpool.

Leave a Reply

